Hey kids,

Thought I’d share some work with you today that would otherwise never see the light of day.

Towards the beginning of the year, my good friend Scott Carelli of Geekshow Entertainment fame, asked me if I’d be interested in redesigning his site along with a couple of new podcast avatars. And I said, “Only HELL yes!!”

Scott and I have very similar design tastes and this became, as I expected it would be, a really fun project to work on. We decided that our over all theme for the site should be something retro cool and classy and fun, so we choose the famous neon Welcome to Fabulous Las Vegas sign as our main influence and inspiration. And, eventually, we arrived at a site header design that I am particularly proud and fond of:


My next step was to create a design for what would be the all-new flagship podcast on the site, “The Geek Show with Scott & Matt.” Keeping in the theme of retro cool, I looked to late-night talk show logos for inspiration and came up with this:


Scott also had me redesign a couple of podcast avatars that, luckily, did not have to fit within the over all retro theme.

First up was “The Doctor’s Companion,” a Doctor Who-themed podcast. For this one, I color manipulated a photograph of a TARDIS, using flat colors, and digitally painted the logo letters, adding in a stainless steel texture over top.


Unfortunately, due to a difference of creative opinions between Scott and his Geekshow partners, it was decided that my designs would not be used on the site and would hereon only exist in my creative portfolio in my little corner of the internet.

Which makes me a bit sad, because I really did love working on these pieces.

Oh, well. As Jay-Z would say, on to the next one.

If you would like to hire me to create or redesign logos, website headers, avatars, party invitations, and whatnot, just send me an email!

