I’m about to lose control and I think I like it!

Hey Kids!

Got a few quick updates for ya here that I am really excited about. Like, serious MANIC excitement.

First of all, in a few months, towards the end of June, a few friends of mine and I will be road-trippin’ it down to Charlotte, NC for Heroes Con, a fairly big comic convention. Going along for the ride will be [Punch-Up artist] Amazing David Brame and his ladyfriend, Heather, my frequent mini-comics collaborator Sir Michael Harris, and Abby “Don’t give me a stupid nickname!” Kokai.

We won’t be renting a table and selling anything at the con this time, since we… have nothing… to sell… *ahem* Our reason for making the 425 mile trip is to pitch our books to various comic companies in hopes to trick them into publishing them for us. Heh heh heh. Suckers.

David and I will be pitching Punch-Up to Oni Press, which I now believe to be our best shot at getting the book picked up. Oni Press, who publishes a few of my favorite comics including the AMAZING Scott Pilgrim OGN (Original Graphic Novel) series doesn’t accept unsolicited submissions which means you can’t get a book out through them unless they talk to you in person at a convention.

Oni also doesn’t make it out to any corporately controlled conventions — like Wizard World Chicago, San Diego, etc. – and most of the cons the do frequent are on the west coast, so Heroes Con is one of our only chances to meet with them this year. (They also have representatives at Wonder Con, in Baltimore, and the convention in Toronto, but those aren’t until later in the year.)

With Image apprehensive about taking a chance on a 260-page OGN from relative unknowns, David and I think Oni is our best bet to get Punch-Up published. While we’re there, David is also going to pitch his own OGN, which I don’t know much about so I won’t talk about it here but, from what I have heard about it, it sounds pretty fucking awesome.

While we’re at Heroes Con, Abby and I will be also talking to Image/Shadowline about our new 40-page all-ages kids book! I don’t want to give away too much about the kids book, but I will say that this thing is going to knock your socks off! I wrote it and Abby is going to quilt all of the pages!

Abby and I spent almost a good six hours last night, huddled in a Cup O’ Joe Coffee House, storyboarding the pages. We have the book completely laid out and, on Sunday, we’ll get together again, and work on character designs and *SPOILER* spaceship designs *SPOILER* We’re hoping to have the entire thing done by the end of June so we can have everything ready in time to pitch to Shadowline.

I was so excited when I got home last night, at just before one o’clock in the morning, that I couldn’t sleep last night! This book is going to be so friggin’ sweet! God, I can’t wait for you all to see it!

Don’t hold your breath for any kids book previews, though. At 260 pages, we can afford to show off a few really cool Punch-Up pages, ever now and then. But being only 40 pages, we’re only going to be able to show you maybe one or two interior pages of the kids book and the cover, although, maybe I can convince Abby to blog a tutorial on her quilting process.

Anyway, that’s all I can share with you today. As always, keep your eyes here for future updates and random acts of sarcasm.

Remember: The pen is mightier than the sword… unless you’re in a sword fight, and then it’s pretty much useless.

Frank Cvetkovic

