Hey kids,

Every year around this time, like most folk, I make a list of resolutions and goals that I have absolutely no intention of keeping.

This year, however, I’m thinking of taking a completely radical approach to my list: I plan on keeping all (most) (well, some) (um… a few) (like one or two) (OK, none) of my promises.

First of all, I’d like to make the same resolution I make every year: I, Frank Cvetkovic, being of sound body and mind, vow to crush my enemies, see them driven before me, and to hear the lamentation of their women.

With that out of the way, here are some of my goals for 2009. I would like to:

* find a publisher for Punch-Up. So far, [Punch-Up artist] David Brame and I are considering at Image Comics as our first choice. I’m checking into Oni, Dark Horse, Slave Labor Graphics, AiT/Planet Lar, as well as a few other smaller publishers as backups. I would also like to get Punch-Up published, printed, and on bookshelves by the end of the year, but that could be an unrealistic goal, depending on how quickly David can draw and if we get picked up.

* finish another graphic novel script. I have two started write now — El Burrito Y El Dia de Los Muertos and I Think I Love My Wife – and I would like finish at least one of them by the end of the year and line up an artist for Wife (as I already have one for El Burrito.).

* push a few of my artist friends *coughcough*MichaelJames*cough* to illustrate some scripts that I had written, so we can print up some mini-comics for SPACE in April, as we had planned.

* find a publisher for Icarus, the children’s book I wrote.

* kick Adobe Illustrator’s ass. Or, y’know, actually learn how to use the program.

* learn to speak French. I’ve always loved French culture and, over the past several years, I’ve become quite a fan of a lot of their movies, music, and comics.

* start drawing again. It’s been a while since I’ve seriously drawn anything other than random sketches. I doubt I’ll try doing commissions again. If I start drawing, I think it will be just for me.

* keep a daily sketch journal. A friend of mine and a few comic artists/bloggers I admire have kept and posted entries from their sketch journals online and it’s an exercise that I think I – and my writing — could really benefit from. Also, it would force me to keep up with my illustration work.

* lose two, possibly three good friends to out-of-state grad schools. (This one should be pretty easy.)

* take a vacation from work – not counting visiting the folks in Cleveland or traveling to Chicago to work the comic convention — and actually go somewhere. (This may be the one that I actually have trouble with.)

And, now, here are some of my more unrealistic goals for 2009. I would like to:

* add another wild emotion to the fold and bump up my bipolar disorder to a tripolar disorder. Not sure which one just yet. Maybe horniness. That has a nice ring to it. Manic-depressive-horniness disorder.

* learn to drive on the left side of the street, like they do in England.

* teach the pup how to use the toilet, like real people, so I don’t have to wake up at 5:30 in the frickin’ AM to take her outside to piss.

* kick Adobe Illustrator’s ass. Or, y’know, actually learn how to use the program.

* take part in a hostage negotiation. Either side. I’m not picky.

So what’s your 2009 lookin’ like?

Your friend (and part-time lover),
Boom Boom Storm Cloud

